The Los Angeles Community College District is the nation’s largest community college district, educating over 200,000 students each year at its nine colleges. The District serves more than five million residents of 38 cities, covering nearly 900 square miles of Los Angeles County.  The District's colleges provide an important learning pathway for students seeking transfer to four-year colleges or universities, while also offering two-year degrees and certificated training programs to the region’s diverse workforce in many specialized trades and professions.